Initiative Members

Program Directors

Amishi Jha

Director of Contemplative Neuroscience

(305) 284-1931
Dr. Amishi Jha, PhD is Director of Contemplative Neuroscience and Professor of Psychology at the University of Miami. Prior to her current post, she was an Assistant Professor at the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience at the University of Pennsylvania. She received her B.S in Biological Psychology from the University of Michigan, her Ph.D in...

Scott L. Rogers

Lecturer in Law
Director, Mindfulness in Law Program
Director of Programs and Training, UMindfulness

(305) 284-4551
Scott L. Rogers is a Lecturer in Law and Founder and Director of the Mindfulness in Law Program at the University of Miami School of Law. He is the author of Mindfulness for Law Students: Applying the Power of Mindful Awareness to Achieve Balance and Success in Law School which is being used in law schools across the country, The Six-Minute...

Ekaterina Denkova, Ph.D.

Research Asst. Professor
Assistant Director of Neuroimaging Facility

(305) 284-8148
Dr. Denkova is a Research Assistant Professor in the Division of Cognitive & Behavioral Neuroscience in the Department of Psychology at the University of Miami. She serves as the Assistant Director of the Neuroimaging Facility & Assistant Director of Research for the UMindfulness Initiative. She received her Ph.D. from the University of...

The University of Miami is home to a group of mindfulness practitioners, teachers, and researchers who individually and collectively offer a variety of mindfulness offerings throughout the year.

Todd Ambroisa, School of Nursing and Health Studies
Debra Annane, Miller School of Medicine
Rochelle Baer, Mailman Center for Child Development
Timothy Conner, Frost School of Music
Alan Delamater, Mailman Center for Child Development 
Amishi Jha, College of Arts and Science, (Website)
Carol Kaminski, Frost School of Music 
David Lee, Miller School of Medicine
Teresa Lesiuk, Frost School of Music
Helen Masin, Department of Physical Therapy
Hilit Mechaber, Miller School of Medicine
Kelly Miller, Richter Library
Scott Rogers, School of Law (Website)
Maria Shojaee, Nursing School
Jodi Sypher, Lowe Art Museum
Jose Szapocznik, Miller School of Medicine
Hope Torrents, Lowe Are Museum
Trae Williamson, School of Business Administration

If you are a member of the University of Miami community who has an interest in mindfulness, please contact Scott Rogers to discuss your interest in joining the initiative.

© 2011-2018. UMindfulness Research & Practice Initiative. All rights reserved.